• October 28, 2012
  • 207

Electoral Action of Poles in Lithuania (AWPL): Narkiewicz and Tamašunienė got seats in the Seimas. Official results. 8 members of AWPL altogether in the Seimas.


The official results of AWPL second round of election to the Seimas are now available. According to the data of the Main Electoral Commission Jarosław Narkiewicz and Rita Tamašunienė got seats in the Seimas. In other electoral constituencies the AWPL candidates have lost to the candidates of other parties. All in all, AWPL will have 8 representatives in the next Seimas.

Jarosław Narkiewicz was the winner of the Vilnius-Trakai constituency. Rita Tamašunienė won against Živilė Pinskuvienė from the Labour Party (Darbo partija) in the Širvintos-Vilnius constituency. The newly elected Members of the Seimas received flowers from the leader of the AWPL party, Waldemar Tomaszewski.

“Considering the involvement of the members of our party I expected winning, although it was not easy. This fight was not easy for the reason that the voters are fascinated by the promises made by the Labour Party. The voters try to clutch at them like a drowning man clutches at straws without even considering other options. People hear what they want to hear. They believe in so called manna from heaven, but we all know that nothing in this world comes for free. I am glad that many of the voters assessed daily work of the AWPL and trusted us again” – said newly elected Member of the Seimas Jarosław Narkiewicz.

The AWPL campaign team was located at “Pan Tadeusz” restaurant at the House of Polish Culture in Vilnius. 20 people were anticipating the results there. “We are certain to win in two electoral constituencies. In the Vilnius-Trakai constituency Jarosław Narkiewicz is peerless and Rita Tamašunienė is leading in the Širvintos-Vilnius constituency – said Waldemar Tomaszewski, the leader of the AWPL. “Unfortunately, in other two constituencies we are definitely losing. In the remaining two the struggle continues” – added the present Member of the European Parliament.

In the Vilnius-Trakai constituency Jarosław Narkiewicz won. After counting the votes in all electoral committees, 55,59% voted for Jarosław Narkiewicz, while only 44,41% voted for Mingailė Binkauskaitė, his rival  from the Labour Party.

Rita Tamašunienė won in the  Širvintos-Vilnius constituency. She was voted for by 60,53%, while 39,47% voted for Živilė Pinskovienė. “I believe everything will be fine. I was losing at first, but half way through the election I took the lead” – said Tamašunienė.

After counting the votes in all electoral districts in Naujoji Vilnia, the winning candidate was Siergiej Ursul from the Labour Party. Tadeusz Andrzejewski was voted for by 42,24% and Ursul by 57,76% of the voters.

In the Eišiškės-Varėna constituency won Algis Kašėta from the Liberal Movement. After counting all of the votes, 59,65% voted for Kašėta and 40,35% voted for Zdzisław Palewicz.

In Šeškinė, after counting all of the votes, the present foreign affairs minister Audronis Ažubalis (61,37 % of votes), while Zbigniew Maciejewski got 38,63%.

Similarly in Justiniškės, after counting all of the votes, Paulius Saudargas won (66,54%), while Zofia Materewicz received half as much votes (33,46%).

Source:  http://pl.delfi.lt/aktualia/litwa/awpl-narkiewicz-i-tamasuniene-poslami-na-sejm.d?id=59863667

Tłumaczenie Katarzyna Rakalska w ramach praktyk w Europejskiej Fundacji Praw Człowieka, www.efhr.eu. Translated by Katarzyna Rakalska the framework of a traineeship programme of the European Foundation of Human Rights, www.efhr.eu.

Related post

A plaque in memory of Józef Mackiewicz was unveiled in the Literatų Street

On the initiative of the Polish Institute, a plaque dedicated to Józef Mackiewicz – a writer,…

Ordonówna affects next generations of Poles

One of the most anticipated proposals that the Polish Theatre “Studio” has recently presented to the…

“Vilnius my love” – outdoor photography exhibition by Jerzy Karpowicz

On Konstantinas Sirvydas Square in Vilnius you can see an exhibition of photographs by the prominent…