• January 4, 2017
  • 428

Józef Rybak is the Pole of the Year 2016

On 4 January results of the Readers’ contest “The Pole of the Year 2016” held by Kurier Wileński were presented.

The person who received the highest number of votes from the Readers and Award Committee is Józef Rybak, the head of local administration of the Šalčininkai region, who won the title of the Pole of the Year 2016. This is the 19th edition of this popular contest held by our daily paper. The contest rewards people who are committed to Polish matters in Lithuania. Yesterday, after results presentation, when Kurier Wileński informed Józef Rybak of his win, he was deeply moved.

– The contest nomination itself is a big surprise for me and it is even harder to believe that I have won the title. In the Vilnius region there are so many extraordinary, strong and hard-working people who put much effort into promoting and fostering the Polish nature and Polish matters here, in Lithuania. I am absolutely amazed and happy to see that this time my efforts were recognized and that people who sent their votes to the editorial office acknowledged that I deserve this honourable title. I am proud of being Polish and that is why the title of the Pole of the Year means a lot to me. I am incredibly grateful for it! – said this year winner Józef Rybak.

Among those who participated in the current edition of the contest “The Pole of the Year 2016” were well-known politicians, social activists, people committed to culture and education, and priests. In total, there were ten candidates to choose from. In November last year the Award Committee, which was composed of the previous winners of the title, selected them from among all candidates proposed by the Readers.

This year the choice of the Pole of the Year 2016 was jointly made by the Readers and the Award Committee, which is done for the second time. The final result depended equally on the Readers (50 percent) and the Award Committee (50 percent). However, the final say was given to our Readers who willingly filled in and sent applications to the editorial office. Counting of votes was a hard work since the editorial office received 5423 applications this year. After Readers’ votes were counted, the places in the top ten were specified accordingly, depending on the votes cast. A candidate in the first place was rewarded with 10 points, in the second place – with 9 points, etc. Furthermore, each member of the Award Committee chose his own top ten and rewarded candidates with points accordingly. Next, votes of the Award Committee were added up and the final list of candidates was created. Each candidate received points, depending on a place: 1st place – 10 points, 2nd place – 9 points, etc.

At the end, votes of the Readers and votes of the Award Committee were added up and the final top ten was determined. This time the Readers and the Award Committee awarded the first place to the same person.

Traditionally, votes were counted by the representatives of the Award Committee: Anna Adamowicz, Barbara Kosinskienė, Antoni Jankowski, Zdzisław Palewicz, Jadwiga Sinkiewicz, and the priest Józef Aszkiełowicz.

Also, traditionally, the Award Committee of the contest “The Pole of the Year 2016” chose ten Readers by draw to reward them for tipping winners. These are: Leokadia Markowicz (Vilnius), Alina Raczkowska (Grigiškės), Krystyna Jackiewicz (Šalčininkai), Mirosława Naganowicz (Vilnius), Andrzej Niemiec (Vilnius), Anna Adamowska (Vilnius), Henryk Połoński (Vilnius), Jadwiga Wilkicka (the Švenčionys region), Jan Kozłowski (Vilnius), Edward Jasiński (Vilnius).

A ceremony dedicated to the most popular and prominent Poles of the Year 2016 will be held on Sunday, 5 February at 4 pm in the House of Polish Culture in Vilnius.


Józef Rybak, head of local administration of the Šalčininkai region
Rita Tamašunienė, member of the Seimas of Lithuania, leader of the EAPL-CFA faction in the Seimas of Lithuania
Tadeusz Jasiński, parish priest of the Church of the Holy Spirit in Vilnius
Andrzej Andrzejewski, parish priest of the Church of the Holy Spirit in Grigiškės
Ryszard Jankowski, chairman of the Vandžiogala department of the Association of Poles in Lithuania
Alicja Klimaszewska, chairwoman of the Social Committee on the Care of the Old Rossa Cemetery
German Komarowski, choreographer and head of the Perła team
Grzegorz Sakson, chairman of the Polish Lawyers’ Association in Lithuania and member of the Vilnius city council
Jarosław Niewierowicz, president of the Polish-Lithuanian Chamber of Commerce
Irena Litwinowicz, artistic director of the Polish Theatre in Vilnius

Translated by Grzegorz Gaura within the framework of a traineeship programme of the European Foundation of Human Rights, www.efhr.eu.

Related post

Issues of Polish education have been raised in front of parents and teachers.

The discussion on current issues in Polish education in Lithuania was initiated by the Forum of…

More Lithuanian in Minority Schools? The Ministry of Education invites to a public debate.

‘The Ministry of Education, Science, and Sports suggests gradually increasing the number of Lithuanian language lessons…

A plaque in memory of Józef Mackiewicz was unveiled in the Literatų Street

On the initiative of the Polish Institute, a plaque dedicated to Józef Mackiewicz – a writer,…