• January 7, 2016
  • 273

Fr. Józef Aszkiełowicz – “Pole of the Year 2015”

On 7th January results of the “Kurier Wileński” [trans. The Courier of Vilnius] Readers plebiscite, “Pole of the Year 2015,” were counted up. It is already the 18th edition of this popular plebiscite organised by our daily newspaper, which aims to commemorate those who best fit the title of the most deserved in the area of Polish affairs in Lithuania.

The most votes from the Readers and Award Committee were obtained by Fr. Józef Aszkiełowicz, an Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary into Heaven parish priest in Maišiagala, who was awarded the honorary title of “Pole of the Year 2015.”

For the first time the choice of “Pole of the Year 2015” was made together by the Readers and Award Committee. Half of the final result depended on the Readers and another half on the Award Committee. The Readers had the final word.

After the coupons sent in by the Readers had been counted, each of the candidates was given a proper position in the top ten depending on the number of votes. The first place was awarded a bonus of ten points, the second one – nine points and so on.

Then each Award Committee member chose their top ten. Next, all their results were counted up and the final list of candidates emerged. Each of them – according to their positions – gained points as well: the first place – ten points, the second one – nine points and so on.

The points given to the candidates by the Readers and the ones from the Award Committee were counted up and the final order in the top ten of the candidates was settled. The votes of the Readers and those of the Award Committee were absolutely convergent when it came to the first position.
This year 5,872 coupons arrived to the newspaper office.
The following representatives of the Award Committee participated in the counting of the votes: Barbara Kosinskienė, Antoni Jankowski, Edward Trusewicz, Leonard Talmont, Zdzisław Palewicz, Jadwiga Sinkiewicz, Sister Michaela Rak, Fr. Wacław Wołodkowicz.
Anna Adamowicz – a member of the Award Committee as well – cast her votes by post.

The plebiscite winner, who was informed about the success yesterday, just after the counting up, by “Kurier”, was extremely moved.
“I am nicely surprised. But I feel great responsibility. To be the Pole of the Year means to defend society. Honestly, I did not expect this title to be given to me. Now I feel as if I am a representative of the whole Polish community, and this is great responsibility. I cannot rest on my laurels – now I must prove that it’s not a mistake,” Fr. Józef Aszkiełowicz said.
The priest thanked all the Readers of “Kurier Wileński” who had voted for him.
“God bless you for your faith in me! It’s very important to me. For all of you I will pray and say mass. I hope I won’t disappoint you,” Aszkiełowicz pointed out.

Well-known community activists, people from the field of culture and education, and priests took part in this year’s edition of the “Pole of the Year 2015” plebiscite. In all, the public could vote for ten nominations, which had been chosen last year in November from the candidates sent in by the Readers. The Award Committee , consisting of the previous winners of this honourable title, was responsible for that task.

The Award Committee of the “Pole of the Year 2015” plebiscite selected also ten Readers by drawing lots, who were going to be rewarded for the participation in the designation of laureates. And they are as follows: Danuta Jankowska (Šalčininkai), Jan Brasel (Vilnius), Weronika Weromiej (Vilnius region), Zdzisław Czetyrkowski (Vilnius), Marian Komar (Vilnius region), Jan Kuncewicz (Vilnius), Stanisława Okuniewicz (Vilnius), Maria Kopacz (Vilnius), Inesa Sinkiewicz (Vilnius), Jadwiga Skarina (Šalčininkai region).
A celebration dedicated to the official honouring of those most popular and deserved Poles of the Year 2015 will take place on 31st January at 4pm in the House of Polish Culture in Vilnius.


Fr. Józef Aszkiełowicz, an Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary into Heaven parish priest in Maišiagala
Bożena Bieleninik, a Polish teacher in the Rafał Kalinowski High School in Nemėžis, the director of a school theatre, „Wędrówka” [trans. Peregrination]
Renata Brasel, the artistic director of the Polish Song and Dance Ensemble “Wilia”
Fr. Tadeusz Jasiński, a Holy Spirit parish priest in Vilnius
Alicja Klimaszewska, the chairperson of the Social Committee for the Care of Old Vilnius Rossa
Jarosław Niewierowicz, the chairman of the Polish-Lithuanian Chamber of Commerce
Czesław Okińczyc, a signatory of the Act of Independence of Lithuania
Apolonia Skakowska, the director of the Stanisław Moniuszko Polish Culture Centre in Lithuania
Mirosław Szejbak, the coordinator of the Forum of the Parents of Polish Schools in Lithuania
Jan Wierbiel, an editor of Wilnoteka.lt

Translated by Karolina Katarzyńska within the framework of a traineeship programme of the European Foundation of Human Rights, www.efhr.eu.

Related post

Dominika Baniewicz won the World Breaking Championship!

On Saturday evening, the Lithuanian national anthem was played in the main square of the Belgian…

Poles danced the polonaise on the Cathedral Square in Vilnius

Lithuanian Poles danced the polonaise on the Cathedral Square in Vilnius on Sunday evening. 192 couples…

A record number of couples danced the polonaise in Vilnius

The “Factum” agency has entered a new achievement in the Book of Outstanding Achievements of Lithuania…