• June 25, 2015
  • 288

Bronisław Komorowski to become Doctor Honoris Causa of the Vytautas Magnus University

Vytautas Magnus University (VMU) in Kaunas granted the title of Doctor Honoris Causa to President Bronisław Komorowski. The President was awarded the honorary degree for „enhancing democracy, improving good international relations between Poland and Lithuania, and  fostering the values of national cultures”.

The presentation ceremony will take place on 30th June in Kaunas. President Bronisław Komorowski as well as Lithuanian politicians will participate in this event.  Among many others, the Prime Minister of Lithuania Algirdas Butkeviczius and the Minister of Foreign Affairs Linas Linkeviczius confirmed that they will attend the ceremony.

The title of Doctor Honoris Causa of the Vytautas Magnus University had previously been granted to Czesław Miłosz (18th September 1991), Zygmunt Bauman (18th April 2007), and Adam Michnik (15th October 2008).

Translated by Anna Plebanek within the framework of a traineeship programme of the European Foundation of Human Rights, www.efhr.eu.

Related post

A team from Naujoji Vilnia appeared among laureates of a Patria Nostra history competition.

A team from the Józef Ignacy Kraszewski Middle School came in third place at the Patria…

A plaque in memory of Józef Mackiewicz was unveiled in the Literatų Street

On the initiative of the Polish Institute, a plaque dedicated to Józef Mackiewicz – a writer,…

Ordonówna affects next generations of Poles

One of the most anticipated proposals that the Polish Theatre “Studio” has recently presented to the…